Oct 6, 2011 - "So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate." Matt 19:6

Friday, May 11, 2012

Running Tomorrow - Back to Immigration

Wow...Three days in a row I have blogged.  I certainly had a lot to say this week. lol

RUN for WOMEN National SeriesLet me explain the title of today's blog and clear up any confusion. I am NOT running To Immigration. hahaha That would be a hell of a run. Some Terry Fox stuff that is out of my league. What I will be running though, is the Starbucks Run for Women 10k.  Had to change my training a bit in the past week because I've had a bit of pain in the arch of my left foot. I'm going to have a look at some insoles tonight. Maybe those will help. Otherwise, I might have to do one of those running shoe consultations at one of the Running Room stores to see if maybe some new kicks would help.  Whether I have to take it easy a bit or not, I will be running tomorrow.  Looking forward to it. I'm not that familiar with the area so i'm sure there will be lots for me to look at as I run.
After the run, we have to head back out to Immigration.  Time's almost up. Gotta drive to Niagara Falls and cross the Rainbow Bridge just to come back into Canada and speak to an agent about Furman's visiting - as instructed to do so.  I'm thinking that since we have to head out that way anyways, that we might do a little shopping or something first. I don't know. We'll see. I just want to get this Immigration stuff over with.

I'm feeling pretty confident now that we wont have any issues. After all, we now have PROOF that our application is in and not only in but IN PROCESS.  Oh yeah baby! And, that I have already been APPROVED as a Sponsor!  Take that!  Why wouldn't they let him stay? He has his return flight for August and we have plans for Florida in July. But, we will go and present them with everything they asked for and then some. Give them that "What's the problem?" look. "Nobody comes between me and my man!"  lol (In my Rachel from Big Brother voice...hahaha)  Of course I wont be opening my big mouth to say any such thing...lol But i'll certainly think it.  Update on what happens will follow after the weekend because it will be a busy one with Sunday being Mother's Day and all.


WHY THIS MOTHER'S DAY IS SPECIAL TO ME:

I look forward to spending Mother's Day with my Mom this year. For many years she has been ill and I have not been afforded the opportunity in a long time to hang out with her on Mother's Day while she is well.  I am looking forward to taking her to church with my family.  She wants to attend First Baptist Church which is a church much of my family used to attend, and that I was raised going to as a young girl.  Many memories there.

My mother has suffered for many years with Schizophrenia.  But, that will have to be another blog/blog post as you can only imagine the things I can share about getting through that.  Today and since about August 2011 she has been doing awesome.  I have been successful in working with Dr's to agree on a treatment that has kept her well for a longer period of time than she has had in years. They finally listened to me and changed her meds back to something that worked better, although it had more side effects.  Unfortunately, the changes came a bit too late for her to attend my wedding in Jamaica. Close, but no cigar. You can't even imagine everything I went through to try and get her there.

Back in the day!
It's been tough dealing with her illness by myself for so many years.  Don't get me wrong, I've had the support of some family members but as I am the only child she raised and that she really knows, all the responsibility, burden, etc has fallen on me to deal with Dr's and stuff.  When she had a bout with Cancer years back, I was a mess and very angry with God.  I love this woman so much I would do anything for her.  I have many happy memories from the years she raised me that nobody can take away.  Although my mother gave birth to two other children when I was in my teens, I will always be special to her, like her only child because she raised me for many years.  That's why we are soo close and have so much love for one another.


My mother had a baby girl when I was 16 that ended up being taken from her and adopted.  Then about 2 yrs later she had another girl that ended up staying in the family and being raised by an aunt. While only the second girl grew up knowing my mother to be part of the family, I don't think she really knew who my mother was till she got older.  But, a relationship never really developed.  Now, because she is and has been in conflict with the aunt that raised her for several years, she is now referring to my mother as her mother and disowning my aunt. While the relationship can never be like the one that I have with Mom, my sister (I use that word lightly) has tried to hurt me by pointing out that my mother will be attending her upcoming wedding. The wedding of "at least one of her children" as she so put it. lol  Thanks to me, of course. Don't forget that part. Clearly, I wont be there. I'm not hurt either. She is a guest like everyone else. It's different. I don't have a relationship with either of the other children my mother had, although I love them both very much.  They both know who my mother is because the one that is adopted found me on the internet many years ago. We had a couple good years of knowing each other. Like I said...another blog/blog post...lol

Mother's Day.

We all need to love and respect the women that raised us. They are our Mothers. Me - I've had three wonderful women do the job. A great job they did! Thank you to them with much love.  But my Mom...the one who gave birth to me. The one who is not at fault for having her illness.  When she is well, she is a wonderful woman, good heart, loves to laugh.  I see a lot of myself in her.  I missed a lot of years with her that can never be made up for.  I have always said to my children that if they could love me as much as I love my mother that I would be a very lucky lady. lol  So, while I am a mom myself and my children will wish me Happy Mother's Day...I am particularly grateful to God for allowing me the opportunity to be able to spend time with my mom this Mother's Day, with my husband as he will be away from his mom.  I am also very blessed to have two children I love very very much. I am blessed.  God is good.

Happy Mother's Day to all the mother's out there. Hope you have a wonderful and blessed weekend.




Thursday, May 10, 2012

Finally IN THE SYSTEM!

Well damn.....I almost fell off my chair again today.

We are finally IN THE SYSTEM!!

After a few months of checking the Application Processing Times on the Canadian Immigration website, we are FINALLY in the system.  Yup....said it again. Feels good.  Meaning, now we can actually get information on our application progress from inputting our name, birthdate, country of birth and identification type into their online portal. I was already doing this periodically using our immigration receipt number when it was all I had, hoping to read something that said IN PROCESS, but kept getting nothing. Then I started looking again when Sonya gave me a file# but was still getting nothing.  So, that's why when I finally received an email that said my Sponsorship Application was Approved as opposed to application being In Process, that I was completely shocked and happy. With my application received date caught up to what they are claiming to be working on, checking ECAS for an update is the only other place to go. It was nice to finally see that we have been Input.

Here is what I can show you:


Sponsorship Application(s)
Sponsored Person
Sponsorship Application Status
Permanent Residence Application Status
FURMAN WHITE
In Process
Application Received


I'm not really sure why the Sponsorship Application Status says In Process instead of Approved or Decision Made when I have already received their email letting me know that it's been Approved. The words In Process are actually a link to more information and when I click on that.....this is what I get:


Sponsorship
We received your application to sponsor FURMAN WHITE on January 31, 2012.
We started processing your application on May 7, 2012.
We sent you a letter on May 7, 2012 about the decision on your application. Please consider delays in mail delivery before contacting us.


Well gee....they started processing our application on May 7th and made a decision same day?  Sent me an email and not a letter. (Unless something else is in the mail)  I guess letting ME sponsor him was a no brainer!  hahahaha  Now, let's see if letting Furman have Permanent Residence is a no brainer too! lol


Permanent Residence Application(s)
Applicant
Permanent Residence Application Status
FURMAN WHITE  
Application Received


That's all we get right now. But hey, today is the first day that we've been in the system for us to read and I can say that with certainty because you know I've been religiously checking. lol  Anyways, I will continue to update as I have been.


Here is my follow up to My Little almost Driver 


Got the text on the way home from work. "She Failed", Furman text me.  Uh oh.  Of course the only thing I wanted to know at the time was how she was handling it. Since I was literally parked on the On Ramp to the highway I shot off a quick text to ask. She was ok. I felt relieved.  Then, she started texting me to let me know herself.  She wasn't happy.  In fact, she was so pissed she text me telling me that "he was a bastard" lol, referring to the examiner. Completely shocked, I had to let that go. After all, my children never speak to me like that or like that around me. I couldn't text her back anyways because I was now moving on the highway. I'll get the story when I get in.

I got in. She didn't say much. She was watching tv with Furman but I wanted all the details. She couldn't or wouldn't pinpoint what she did wrong. She said that her driving instructor told her that she had a nervous breakdown. lol  Oh gosh. Of course she immediately wanted to book another test. It's gonna cost $40.  I put that idea off for now. When did the cost of these things go up anyways? I wanted her to confirm if she was going to have to pay the driving instructor another $110 to use her car.  Yup, that's what that weasel charged her. Robbery I tell you! But, my daughter wanted to pay to use her small car because she thought it would be easier for her. (I could have rented a car for cheaper)  Look how that went. Momma is always right. She should have listened.  To her it was no big deal because it was one of very few things she ever got from her dad. (The money to pay the instructor)  I wasn't going to pay for it. I paid half of the driving school.  Now, she is back to where she left off, needing more driving experience and having to book another test for when she is ready.  All I know is that two weeks is not ready. lol


We all get ready to head to Costco and of course I give her the keys to drive. She needs practice right?  In the driveway though, while she got in the drivers seat, a fight ensued. No word of a lie! Furman and I are literally wrestling to get in that back seat that I usually sit in when she drives. lol Furman wasn't having that this time! hahaha We struggled with each other playfully as I tried to squeeze my body between him and the open car door. If only you could have seen us. lol  He won! When I opened the front passenger door to take my spot beside my little almost driver all she could say was "Oh Wow". Referring to our little scuffle and that neither of us wanted to sit beside her as she drove post test. lol  It was funny. I got to get a good look at her drivers examination report and OMG!  Nervous breakdown is right! I never saw so many markings. Clearly her driving test was a bad experience, but they both made it out alive.


No more doing it her way!  Nope. I gotta step in and ensure that she is not booking another test till I feel that she is ready and comfortable driving. I knew she wasn't ready but she insisted and sometimes you just have to let them learn for themselves. I'll let her get more practice and I'm definitely not going to allow her to Donate another $110 to a woman, who probably wasn't teaching her right anyways, to use her car.  She'll have to use mine. And, we'll probably book a test at an office in another part of the city. After all, some driving centers have reputations you know. My son had trouble passing his test at the same place she went to and I ended up taking him to another part of the city to get his license also. But, I will definitely mark her myself before I let her test again and I don't care if she is paying for it. Not after the report that I saw. lol

That's the gist of it.  Her driving is still a work in progress. God answered prayers and kept everyone safe and hopefully she got something from the experience.  Till next time.....


Wednesday, May 9, 2012

My Little almost Driver

Today marks a significant event in my daughters life.....Driving Test day.


    

I am sooo nervous for her. I remember when I was 16 and was going for my driving test not too many years ago.  lmao  I failed my first test when I was 16 because I didn't properly stop at a 4-way stop sign intersection.  Ok Ok..I stopped...let's just say I didn't look properly before pulling out.  Big FAIL!  Man was I pissed.  Got it on my second try though.  I didn't go to driving school.  A guy who used to like me taught me how to drive.  I guess that was his way of spending time with me although we never dated.  He almost forgot to teach me how to parallel park too.  We did that lesson the morning of my test if I remember correctly.

My daughter went to driving school unlike my son and myself.  I don't think I had the same nerve to teach her like I taught my son years ago.  Feel bad but i'm not as young and daring as I used to be. lol Each time I let her drive I am a nervous wreck and don't remember being as nervous when I was teaching my son about 6 years ago. lol So, I agreed to pay half for her to go to driving school and do it the "right way" and that is what she did. So proud of her. She had a goal, was something she wanted, she worked for it and did it.  She is like her momma in a lot of ways. She went on her own and got her driver's permit only a few weeks after she turned 16. She sure did. And, when she passed, she sent me a quick text message to share her excitement and then she treated herself to some sushi at a nearby restaurant while she waited for me to pick her up. lol  It was soo cute walking into that restaurant watching her celebrate all by her lonesome. lol

Today, she is going for her test with her driving teacher. While I was prepared to allow her to do her testing with my car, she chose to use the teachers car because she felt that driving the little Toyota Echo vs Lexus E330 would be much easier.  I tried to tell her that once you drive one car you should be able to drive any car but noooo, she needs the teachers car and was willing to pay for its use.

Let's see:
   VS.   Yeah....maybe the small car will be better for her to test in. lol Whatever makes her most comfortable.  Keeps my car safe too.  :)

She's excited.  I'm excited for her.  She sent me a text message this morning after she looked outside and saw the beautiful weather. "Yesss its a nice day outside god is gonna bless me just watch".  She is so cute. I hope she passes although I am lacking confidence in her driving abilities right now.  I think she needs more time on the road.  I make that judgement after driving with her several times and her having a few close calls. The times I let her drive, I've taken my seat in the back leaving Furman in the front.  hahaha  We both say, she needs to pay more attention.  Hope she pays full attention today and remembers everything she has been taught.


"God, please keep my daughter and her teacher safe as well as others on the road at the time of her driving test and allow her to pass should she demonstrate the necessary competence to do so."  
Ok. I said a short prayer.

Will she pass?  I purposely left the results out...you'll have to come back and find out, after I do!!

If she passes, I'll be able to use it as an example of God answering her prayers as well as how her hard work, determination and focus has paid off.  Then, I can tease her about everyone needing to stay off the road.  hahaha  If she doesn't pass, well I know she is going to be a crab apple for a few days and it'll be a bit difficult explaining to her that it just wasn't her time.  That's where the story of my first failed test will come in.  I don't share that with anyone ya know! lol  Perhaps stories of other people she knows failing their first test might help too. lol  I'll figure it out. Man.....the joys of being a parent sometimes.

Good luck to my baby girl today!

Saturday, May 5, 2012

My Marathon Man!

   This is what my husband will be running on Sunday. Yup! He's not new. Oh no...he's done Marathons before. Here in October of 2010 he did the Goodlife Fitness Toronto Half-Marathon Bib#3300, so now he has decided to Upgrade his bling. lol  Marathon it is. A feat I cannot even imagine myself completing anytime soon but I will definitely be there to support him.  So proud of him. He inspires me.

Not sure what I am going to do with my time while he is running though. Think i'll go look for my mom and take her with me to meet him at the finish line.  He says it should take him maybe 4 1/2 hours to complete. I think that's what he told me. So, i'll have to fart around in the city that will already be crippled by streets shut off for the marathon. You know I wont be going too far from the finish line.  lol  I'll find something to do, somewhere to go - with mom.

I expect it to be a long day because once he is finished we have a long drive out to Hamilton to support my daughter and her baton club for their Provincial Competition. Hopefully, we wont be out there too late because I am sure that Furman will be completely exhausted from the run. Thank God I was able to arrange a ride for my daughter to the competition with another parent because i'm not sure how I would have handled the scheduling conflict.  Before we head out to Hamilton, the plan is to stop by my Auntie to get some of her great food and take her along with us for the ride to Hamilton so she can see my daughter twirl. Praying that our timing will be perfect so my auntie can see as much as possible of my girl doing her thing.  She has always wanted to see her twirl but hasn't had the opportunity.  We'll see how it all plays out tomorrow.

Today, we went to the Expo to pick up his Bib# 836 and any free goodies they were offering. He'll be wearing his Miami shirt to represent!  Almost bought myself a parking ticket.  When we were leaving we saw a man around the vehicles where I illegally parked that looked like he was a ticket man.  lol (Hey, I parked there because everybody else did but No...if everybody jumped off the CN Tower I wouldn't follow them. lol) So, while he was talking with another driver parked in the same location, Furman and I sprinted across  the street to hop in the car and make a quick exit.  We sure did! Felt like a Bonnie and Clyde moment. lol  Saved myself $30 with that getaway.  Then we went to visit my auntie and got a three for one deal. Another aunt was visiting with her daughter so we got to hang out with two of my auntie's and my cousin for a bit.


To finish off our evening we went and had a wonderful dinner at The Arkadia House.  One of my cousins gave me a gift certificate for this restaurant for my birthday in October so we decided there was no time like the present to finally check it out. After all, the restaurant was in the city and we live just out of the city.  It was nice. I got to have Swordfish as well as Octopus for the first time.  I swear that with the Octopus, I had no clue what I was eating till I looked at it closer and noticed the tentacles after I had already eaten several pieces. It reminded me of chicken, so finding out it was something from the water was a surprise.  It shouldn't have been since I ordered a seafood platter. lol  Awe man...looking at the photo...I can't believe I ate that. lol But...It was good.

Anyways....I'm off to relax with my hubby so that our big meals can digest.  I guess I can say that I officially have ITIS -
                                               as defined by the Urban Dictionary for those who don't know - The drowsy sleepy feeling you get after eating a large meal.  lmao
Hope everyone is having an awesome and Blessed weekend.  The weather has been great.  Hate to have to miss church tomorrow. But, I know God will forgive me because he always does.  Love him!

Thursday, May 3, 2012

The Call - To Immigration!!

Well, I've been waiting patiently for any type of status update from the Canadian Immigration website.

Update the Application Processing Times to something beyond February 1st for me to feel justified in calling them to ask what on earth is up. But...nothing yet.
Update the Client Application Status so that when I enter Furman's or my own information that I would get some sort of status and/or file# to let me know that something has been happening. But....nothing yet.

So.....I keep checking the website like a madwoman, like it's some sort of obsession....like it's nobody's business.  Still saying prayers for something to happen soon.  I know that God answers prayers so I am trying, and I did say trying....to be patient.  But man oh man...the thought of my hubby having to possibly return home only to visit once again shortly after just pisses me off. Not to mention the wasted money. lol

Then, I caved. I did it! I called them. I sure did. I couldn't take it anymore. I know the website is supposed to update it's status today but after I started thinking.....I picked up the phone. Oh yeah...I was thinking about a previous time when their website updated to say they were working on applications received January 25th or something like that.  I remember accusing them of pulling Canada Post Tricks by not properly updating. Then, when I checked the website the following week I found that they were Going Backwards saying they were working on applications received January 18th.  You remember? Wrote blogs about my frustrations as linked above. lol It's all recorded. Anyways....while waiting for them to update the website today I considered the fact that they could possibly go backwards again. You know they've been known to do that!  lol  So I figured that I would go ahead and give Immigration a call while I could still refer to the website saying that they are working on applications received February 1st. After all, mine was supposedly received January 31st, we haven't heard anything and there was no update online.  Lol

THE CALL:

Sonya?  Who knows. lol
When I called, I got Sonya. Nice lady. Have no clue if that's her in the photo I borrowed. lol I doubt it. Her name could be Sonya though. What would the chances of that be? lol  Sonya was very helpful.
I explained to her that the reason for my call was to confirm possible receipt of my application since the website indicates they are working on Feb 1st.  I let her know when mine was supposed to have been received and that I haven't received any communication yet. (Website makes it clear that the call center cannot give information on application status, etc - so I didn't bother ask.) I told her how I took precautions to even send my documents via Express Post for the tracking too.

She took my information and tried to look me up. It didn't sound like she was finding anything.  When she put me on hold, I got a little worried. But, when she came back she started asking for verification of address, etc.  A big smile came on my face. "So that must mean you have received my application" I said. She confirmed and I let out a big sigh. Soo happy. "You don't know how happy that makes me" I told her.  Then, I took it a step further and told her a bit about my husband visiting and about our Run-In with Immigration.  I let her know how we had been instructed to return or hubby had to leave the country because we could not be found in the computer.  That was my way of planting a seed for her to do something if she could. Man, i'm good. (Planting the seed....call center tactic I used to use at work when I was in sales). lol

After listening to my story, she put me on hold so she could "further the application". Yessirree...that's what she said. Wasn't sure what she meant by that but I waited patiently for her to return and let me know.  When she came back to the phone, she asked me for my Immigration receipt number as well as my Canada Post tracking#.  Not sure why she needed that if she already confirmed that they have our stuff. I gave her what she asked for and I think she put me on hold again. I don't know...I was getting excited. lol  When she came back (if she did put me on hold, lol) she explained to me that because of the date the application was received and the date the website indicates they are working on, that she would send a note to Mississauga and leave a note in the system. Oh my....now I get "furthering my application". I was so happy. She reminded me that she didn't have any information on application status and that they would be reviewing my eligibility as a sponsor.  But, she gave me an ID#   OMG! I swear I almost fell off my chair with cheer!  She told me that when we return to the border to make sure to take my Immigration Receipt, Canada Post Tracking confirmation and give them the 8-digit ID# she just gave me.  They should now be able to pull me up in the computer and see that something...is going on.  I have no clue what type of ID# she gave me. After I got off the phone I called Furman right away to tell him. Then while I was blogging, I checked back to the Immigration Website-Client Application Status for more info.  I am gathering that it is the Client ID# (UCI) that I've been waiting for because it is 8-digits with no letters. Apparently the Immigration File# starts with a letter and is followed by a combination of 9 numbers or letters.  I dunno. I tried to insert it as the Client ID on the website to see if anything came up under the Client Application Status...But, nothing.  I dont' care right now.  Did I mention I am finally thrilled - feeling some progress?  I HAVE A NUMBER!! Woo Hoo!!
I'm feeling soo good right now!!


Now, I don't have to worry about Application Processing Time although I will be curious to see what it updates to today.  Will it stay at Feb 1st for another week?  (YES) Will it go backwards? (NO) Like I said, I don't care. lol But I will still keep trying to pull up our info in the system to see what I get in terms of Client Application Status.  Till something comes up....I'm at peace. Now, I can get back to focusing on my upcoming weekend as my husband prepares to run the Goodlife Toronto Marathon on Sunday.  Run Furman Run!

Today - is a good day!

Monday, April 30, 2012

Dandelion Picking

I started writing a blog post about two different things, two different times and have left them sitting in draft. Not sure if I should post what I've written so letting them sit there till I decide. Then, I decided I would write and post about something else....Dandelions.  lol
Brings back memories I thought I'd share.

                                                  

My husband and I were talking about the infamous Dandelions weeds/flowers (whatever you want to call them) over the weekend as we took a walk and noticed how many of them are popping up all over the place.  Not to mention that they have colored my backyard.  Since they also pop up between cracks in the sidewalk or wall crevices, I also have them in places they don't need to be.  So, hubby googled about dandelions and also checked out some weed tools to remove them.  lol  I don't think he was that familiar with them. No Dandelions in Miami? Oh yeah...i'm sure they're there somewhere. These things like to multiply like crazy.

Anyways....talking about dandelions brought me to fond memories of when I was younger and my grandma Mary was alive.  She loved to pick and cook dandelions. Yup...I said cook. I ate the leaves of this pesky plant and they tasted pretty good too from what I remember. lol Cooked up almost like any other kind of greens.
If you buy them in the store....yes you can buy them too...(just noticed that at No Frills Grocery store over the weekend) they look like the photo, minus the flower. Or, you can just pick them from your own backyard....as long as you don't have a dog that you let out occasionally to do his business. lol I'd leave those alone!
When my grandma was alive, I have memories of us stopping on the side of the highway to pick dandelions. We sure did. I can laugh about it now but it wasn't funny at the time. The one's on the side of the highway would obviously be cleaner and safer than the one's in the city that could be blessed by local dogs everywhere and city polution in general. lol  So I get it.
When I was around 13, I also remember my auntie taking me to a local field nearby to pick dandelions too.  Like mother, like daughter.  Now THAT was embarrassing! We were at a field that wasn't too far from home. I'm not sure if I'd quite say that it was safe from pet spray. lol But, we were there with our garbage bags picking away.  Unfortunately for me, a few kids from school ran into us and wondered what we were doing. Lord knows I couldn't tell them that I was picking dinner. OMG!  Are you serious?  I was already an outcast at school because the boys liked me and the girls didn't like that. I couldn't tell anyone what we were really doing. I don't even really remember what I said to the kids, but I know I played it off real well. I think I saw them coming and hopped up to dance around in the flowers or something..lol  I just remember the embarrassment. lol  I love my auntie and I'm so grateful that she took me in and raised me as I grew into my teenage years. Picking dandelions....one of the many memories I have from living with her.  Have to laugh.

Here's how you do it properly:


How to pick dandelions:

  • Choose young dandelions in a yard, field or wooded spot away from areas where they might be contaminated by vehicle emissions, herbicides, fungicides or insecticides.
  • Pick them in the spring when they're young and at their least bitter and tough.
  • With a knife, cut the entire plant from the ground up, leaving the root. Discard flowers except for the closed ones: the rest aren't edible.
  • Pick enough to fill a large bag or basket, taking into consideration they will wilt considerably in the cooking process.
  • Younger ones can be used it salads, while slightly older ones may be boiled to reduce bitterness.


Now, like I said...these plants can be tasty and are definitely good for you. You wouldn't imagine unless you looked it up. So I did to prove my point (See references below):  When eaten, dandelions can be surprisingly good for you. Half a cup of leaves has more calcium than a glass of milk. They're also an excellent source of iron, vitamin A, potassium and vitamin C.
Even though a diuretic, vitamin loss is not an issue because the count is so high (14,000 IUs of vitamin A per 100 grams).
In fact, when counting overall nutritional value, the U.S. Agriculture Department puts dandelion ahead of broccoli and spinach.


How to cook them:

  • First, double-wash the dandelions in a sink of cold water. (They tend to be sandy.)
  • Cover them with water in a pot, and bring to a boil.
  • Much like spinach, they are ready once wilted and the water turns colour.
  • If using older plants, rinse and boil them again to take away excess bitterness.
  • Drain cooked dandelions and transfer to a pan with one to two tablespoons of olive oil and a clove of chopped garlic.
  • If desired, season with salt and red pepper flakes.
  • Then, lightly sauté on low heat for about 15 minutes.


So yeah....the next time you weed your backyard of pesky dandelions...think of what I've just shared in case you didn't know...you can eat that!! lol  Here is a recipe too: (I haven't tried it but I'm sure somebody has)


Recipe for pickled dandelion flower buds

Ingredients
  • Young dandelion flower buds, tightly closed (not yet opened for the season)
  • Garlic, chopped
  • Onion, chopped
  • Ginger, chopped
  • 1 part tamari or soy sauce
  • 3 parts apple cider vinegar
Directions
Fill a pickling jar for two to three centimetres with chopped garlic, onions and ginger.
Then add dandelion buds until about a third full.
Repeat process until jar is filled to top.
Cover with one part tamari (or soy sauce) to three parts apple cider vinegar. Seal with a plastic lid or if using metal, put waxed paper between the lid and dandelions so it doesn't rust shut.
Let sit for three weeks on counter. Then use as a condiment like any pickle. There's no need to refrigerate jars, even after opening.
(Source: Good Natured Earthling)


The dandelion!  Oh yeah...I remember when I was younger too we used to hold the dandelion flower under our chins looking for some sort of glow from the yellow that would mean something. Don't remember what it was supposed to mean if you saw the glow. lol According to the internet it could be any number of things: financial success, being in love, liking butter.  Who knows what it meant to us when we were like 12. lol  Kids do the darndest things.  I also remember picking dandelion flowers and while holding my thumb under the flower part I would chant "mama had a baby and her head popped off" while simultaneously popping the flowers head from the stem. lol  Thinking about it now, I have no clue why we did that either. lol It's amazing how such simple and crazy things brought us joy at a young age. Times are soo different now. Today it's all about tv and video games. When I was growing up, we had to be outside playing..no sitting around in the house unless you were doing homework. So, I was outside playing with dandelions, skipping rope, playing jumpsy (string of elastic bands woven together to jump over), handball and I even played jacks!  Remember those?

Anyways...I just wanted to take a short trip down memory lane about my childhood of which my sister thinks was terrible in comparison to another sister solely because she was raised by two adopted parents. lol That's another story. To set the story straight...I had a great childhood. Circumstances that made my childhood different weren't so great but I was loved by many and given then best they could give. It takes a village to raise a child and in my opinion, I was raised by a village. Like I said...another story.  But picking dandelions is one of my fondest memories because it's something that I did with my grandma when she was alive.  I didn't like or appreciate my grandma till after she passed...but I can look back now and only hope she now knows how much I did love her and cherish the time I spent with her. And, if Furman gets around to picking those dandelions, I just might add them with my dinner and thank my grandma and my auntie for what they shared when I was oh so young.


REFERENCES:
An awesome reference about Dandelions is University of Maryland Medical Center-Dandelion
Dandelion References:  CBC News-Dandelions: Time to Throw In The Towel

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...