Oct 6, 2011 - "So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate." Matt 19:6

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Already Making Plans


                                              

And I am already making our plans for the weekend. WooHoo!



We will be there Saturday morning (see video) meeting up with some friends. Thanks girl for telling us about it. We would have never known. This, is right up Furman's alley too! I like Expos. I like FREE stuff. I like learning new stuff too. And, it's nice to do stuff that other people are interested in doing with you. Not that I don't love hanging out with just Furman and I...but you know, sometimes it's good to hang out with other awesome people. So, just like Caribana Weekend, we'll meet up with our friends and check this out together!!

After spending several hours at the Expo, we plan to head to Brantford to meet up with one of Furmans friends. We'll probably find somewhere in Brantford to have a nice dinner and hang out before we head back home. Any recommendations? I don't know Brantford at all, but I've been there. The family that adopted one of my sisters lives out there. She may too still....who knows? But I'm sure they've got a few nice places to eat out there. We'll find something. Any recommendations, let us know.


The CNE opens this weekend, otherwise known as The Ex, for it's 134th year! Imagine that. The opening of the CNE is always a sign that summer is almost over. I remember going there as a little girl with family. In fact, there were several years where I lived with my mom and we actually lived only a few blocks from The Ex. lol Memories! We used to go to the Ex so the adults could play the games like Crown n Anchor and Horseraces. I always had to play the Birthday game! For me, the Ex was never really about the rides but about the games and the Food Building. Canada's Wonderland is about the rides. Polar Express was the only CNE ride I liked.


But yeah, love the Food Building where you could get so much variety at decent prices. The last several years it seems like they've been trying out a lot of weird food stuff too. Like deep fried butter. Oh boy. Hamburgers where the bun is actually a Krispy Kreme donut. (so I guess it's called a Donut Burger). lol  I think I even remember hearing about deep fried koolaid once. WTH? I certainly wont be trying anything funky if I go. Trying to watch my waistline. lol
                                                                                Click on the Food Building link above for the list of what will be new for this year.

I'm not sure yet if we'll get to The Ex this year. I'd like to go just because Furman has never been there for the CNE, but...we gotta get our use of our Wonderland seasons passes that Furman bought. We'll see. At this point it's getting harder to plan what to do before Furman leaves me on August 27th. (Remember we have Mud Hero on the 25th). I'm already thinking that we gotta squeeze in another trip to Wonderland on Sunday after church. Just, so we can get our second visit for our money's worth in those passes. We'll see about that too. It's only Wednesday..who knows what our final plans for the weekend will be by Friday.

Anyways...I got to get back to work. It's Hump Day. I got things to do!
I've been Prime at my office building for another year of our Backpack Program. Backpacks are finally starting to come in and/or get filled. I've got a bit more to do than just my core job. lol
Every year our company runs a program where we collect donations from the employees across the province to fill a backpack for underprivileged children. Since I am always volunteering for different things, I am known around our building as the "go to" person for different stuff. This is one of them. The employees really come through. It's quite awesome. The company provides the backpacks and just solicits the donations to fill them. Sometimes though, the employees will actually purchase the backpack also, which is fine too. We give a target date for collection which all comes to me and I ensure that all backpacks are filled with the list of what we ask the bags to be filled with. Once completed, I arrange for pickup or drop off of the backpacks usually to an agency that works with other agencies for distribution. For example, Windfall Basics. Back to school is just around the corner...so I am hoping to have everything collected so I can arrange delivery next week. Why am I telling you this? Well, so that you can see the kind of stuff that I am always upto. Whether at work or at home, I always try to do something a little extra for other people. Fill a Backpack, Food Drives. Besides, it gives me something to do other than work while at the office.

No Immigration updates!!  Ugh.

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Black Church, Small World


We went to one today!
Church of the Firstborn - 72 Perth Ave, Toronto
Had to share this video of Gary Owen because the first time I heard it I died laughing.

We've been invited several times to attend the church that my daughters friend attends. Umm..it's downtown Toronto. Quite a drive from home. But, after a few invites from her and her mother and not making it, we made sure to attend today. I know she was really looking forward to us coming and I was happy to finally come through for her. Her mom wasn't believing for a moment that we were going to come. But, we showed her. lol We were told that service starts at 11 so we made sure that we were there for 10:30. Good thing we did because we later found out that Praise and Worship actually starts at 10:45. And yes, just as Gary Owens mentions above, we were there for a while. Everything he says about Black Churches is kind of spot on actually. In case you've never been to one. We expected to be there longer than we are used to anyways. Furman figured that we wouldn't be finished till like 3pm. Well, they showed us...they let us out an hour earlier than we expected. Service ended at like 1:45pm although we didn't physically leave the church till after 3pm. lol Why? Well, they had snacks in an area where people got together to congregate after the service. So, we also made ourselves at home and were welcomed by many people, especially her awesome parents. We certainly weren't made to feel like visitors.

Service was lovely. Pastor Ludlow Miller had words meant just for me, considering stuff that I've been going through lately. That's just how God works sometimes. He preached from Ephesians 4:1-13. We sang songs that we were unfamiliar with (it was ok because it was like karaoke with the words on the screen for us) and we were jamming. Definitely a different flavor from our own church. But trust me, after singing a song chorus like 20 times, you learn the song. lol It was definitely a lot of standing. The seats were well cushioned but you don't get to enjoy them much. As I listened, I watched a lot. Always interested to see how other churches do things. With Olympics in mind, we noticed something that seemed to be like a prayer relay. Well, Furman noticed it actually. My head was bowed and my eyes were closed. lol But seriously. Someone started with prayer then next thing you know the mic was passed to someone else to continue and then another.... When it was time for tithes and offerings we have to go up to the front, aisle by aisle, as opposed to the usher bringing the plate to us. And..they make change. lol At least it looked like it. Don't think you have to give your entire $20 or $50 bill. lol Our little friend was on stage singing with others so she was also able to notice the few times Furman may have looked like he was nodding off. Although I have no clue how he could have because the volume was definitely high. And, Furman was able to make faces at her as she sang along with the others. hahaha

All in all, we had an awesome day. Love Black Churches. But, I don't think I could handle the drive all the way into the city every week. Yet, I certainly learned and understood why they do it. The church is family. They really are. They've been together for years and plan to stay that way. It was beautiful. I was requested to return and I definitely will plan to. I'm sure my little friend will make sure to remind us too.

Thank you Kiddo!
Wonderful girl...her momma must be proud!
I really have to tell you about how small a world it is though. 


After church service we congregated and were looking at some pictures on our friends camera from a recent trip to Punta Cana that they had taken. As they scrolled through a few pictures, low and behold guess who I saw? My sister. Yup. The one that had just gotten married. She apparently went to Punta Cana for her honeymoon and while I may not have been at her wedding, she couldn't run from the thought of me during her special time. hahaha Oh no. On the resort, they just happened to be in an area where they heard there were other Canadians around. My dear little friend noticed that my sister seemed to remind her of me for some reason. She really doesn't look like me. (Wont be posting any photos for you to compare yourself though. Sorry. lol) She is a lot lighter and taller with the same hair...but other than that, that's it i'd say. lol Same mother, different fathers. We are very very different (trust me), although I've been told we are easy to mix up on the phone. Yet, there was enough similarity for this child to wonder and have to ask. She got her answer though. My sister confirmed that this girls friend (my daughter) was indeed her niece, and I was her sister. lmao My daughters friend kind of tried to put two and two together that my sisters wedding was the wedding that my daughter recently attended. But she was wrong. My daughter hadn't been invited to my sisters wedding probably because as I previously mentioned, we have no relationship and haven't had one for years since she left my home. None between my sister and me. None between my sister and my children. So..wrong wedding. I kept my laughter of the coincidence to myself and laughed later. Imagine that! What a small world. Soo funny. It's nice to know that I was thought of whether they may have wanted to think of me or not. hahahaha

Anyways. Going to finish relaxing to end a wonderful weekend. Olympic closing ceremonies are on. Better than the opening ceremonies in my opinion. Our next Church in the City to feed the homeless is in October but my next Ladies Prayer Breakfast is in September. Furman will already be back in Miami. Ok..I gotta stop mentioning that and get that out of my mind for a while. lol That being said...i'm off...to go back to enjoying spending some more quality time with my husband. You've gotten enough of my time this evening. lol

Hope you all have a great week to come.

Friday, August 10, 2012

It's That Time Again

Oh God, thank you for Friday
Oh thank you heavenly Father

Ok...no clubbing for me..but i'm still happy it's Friday! lol I'll jam in the car to and from work.

It's that time again...So Special - Winning. It's our weekend to head down with our church and feed the homeless tomorrow. Something we love to do. And of course, I have my Ladies Prayer Breakfast to attend first. Looks like it will be a rainy weekend though. So there is not much else I want to do but chill out with my husband.

I extended an invite to one of my daughters friends to join us in feeding the homeless. She is an awesome girl (very grounded) and I think it would be a great experience for her if she was able to attend. Not to mention that she would be able to knock off some of the required volunteer hours that she needs to graduate anyways. But, she is going to try and come with us in October when we do it. She already has an engagement to attend already. Furman and I are regulars and will definitely be there rain or shine. I think they'd actually miss us if we weren't there. hahaha (miss Furman actually) Not the homeless...the people from our church that we feed the homeless with will miss him. haha  Can't disappoint them. We're doing desserts this time. Then, next time we feed the homeless we are doing dinner again and that's when Furman and I will be filling in as the "Go To" people. I was very honored to be asked to fill in for this position by those who are usually in charge. Like I said, Furman and I are regulars so they know that they can count on us. It's a nice feeling to be counted on.

This weekend though, we'll have to skip our routine of visiting mom after feeding the homeless. Turns out that she actually got an invite to spend the night at my sisters house. Will be her first time. I'm sure i'll hear all about it after the weekend. Mom tells me everything. In a way, I guess i'm also her BFF. I'm just happy that my mom is getting some love that she deserves. Can never hate on that! One can never receive too much love. By now, you should be able to tell from several of my posts how much I love my mom. She is a special woman who has been through soo much. And you know what...our trials and tribulations make us that much more awesome. I've always wanted to make her proud in the back of my mind, whether she was aware of things I've done and accomplished or not. I know i've done it - made her proud. We have something special.

This is mom. I've posted photos of her before but this is of her all spiffed up for my sisters recent wedding that she had been invited to attend. Mom looked beautiful. Not sure what was up with her hair though. Maybe it was for a vintage look? Who knows? She looked nice nonetheless, with that oh so familiar look on her face. They, whoever, did a good job with her overall. Kudos to you if you are reading this. But mom is always beautiful to me anyways, because I have wonderful memories of her when she was younger and "Ready to go!" lol When I look at her, I see the vibrance and life she used to have. The woman locked inside who she is today. I love her to death! Hope they have a great weekend with my girl! She'll call me when she returns.

Yeah...it's going to be a chill out weekend, with my continued exercising of course. Two more weeks to train for Mud Hero. I've been working on my cardio, but now that we've figured out a work around for my Ab DVD (it hasn't been working properly in my player), I can get back to the tummy. Get rid of some of that Red Velvet Cheesecake I was eating. Be ready for this....


Yup....that will be us...August 25th!!

Have an awesome weekend people!
God Bless and...



Thursday, August 9, 2012

Changes - Sponsorship Application

I was hoping to avoid this but....the immigration office is taking wayyyy too long.
My passport expires next week.
Remember I guesstimated that I should hear something by the end of July based on other timelines I've read about? Well, I haven't heard anything more since our Sponsorship Approved and it's pissing me off now. lol  I know that we are Finally In System but they aren't updating.
July came and went.
Now I understand that they've recently made a lot of changes with office closures and stuff, Restructuring of North American Processing - Bulletin. Work now being redirected to other offices. But come on!! Our stuff was soo organized a child could get through it in no time. My friends application for Permanent Residency only took 6 months. Did our application sent to Los Angeles actually hurt us? Or can we blame this so called restructuring? Either way, we can't do a darned thing about it. So, we still wait. Patiently. haha


Anyways, like I said, my passport expires and since my name has changed I cannot renew my passport but I have to get a new one. Completed everything online, printed, signed and decided to show up at the passport office today. I'm trying to make plans for my first anniversary and that's hard to do without a new passport ready to travel. So, I had to get it done ASAP. I was the first in line. Yup. 7am after dropping my son to work. That worked out well. I'll have to exercise later. A man came to the line shortly after I got there and started laughing that I had beat him to the first spot. "The early bird catches the worm!" I said as I laughed with him.


I sat on the cold floor for the hour, almost hour, reading Fifty Shades of Grey on my iPhone. I'm not much of a video game person. So reading was just great. And what I was reading was even better.

It wasn't too bad actually. They had a pretty good system set up. Security gave us numbers in the lobby and at about 7:55 they allowed 10 of us to go up at a time. I was actually at the kiosk and out of the office within 10 minutes. No worries about having to get to work on time after all. And guess what? The slip of paper they gave me indicated that the mail out date for my passport will be August 23rd. Quick eh? Pretty much what I expected though.

Now...to make plans to join my hubby in Florida next month, so we can possibly fly off somewhere to celebrate our first year as husband and wife. Oh, and we have to eat the rest of our wedding cake that has been in the freezer waiting for October 6th. lol Nope...Furman wont have to put his new baking skills to work at all. We got leftovers! Special leftovers.

As for our Immigration Application... Looks like I will have to send them an email once I get my new passport. Although most of my identification had already been changed to my new name within the first week of being married, the Sponsorship Application had to go in the name that appeared on my Passport. So, that's what I did. I was lucky to officially be Mrs White on paper almost right away. Many others that I've heard have had to wait like 60 days to receive their actual marriage certificate in order to get the changes started. Not me...they took the registry certificate that we were given in Jamaica. No need to wait for the actual license. Started with my drivers license, then health card and everything else was pretty much a phone call.

Now, i'll be Mrs White on my passport. Didn't want to deal with my passport before it expired because of our application with immigration and because I would have lost time I already paid for. They wouldn't have dated the new passport when my old one expired. Oh no.

You know what though...maybe my having to email immigration about updating my information to reflect what is on my new passport will be a good thing. They will have to look at our file to make the changes which might remind them that they got work to do!! Just saying! We'll see. Things that make you say hmm?

Anyways...I've rambled enough for the day. Got to get back to work. Break is over! I've been covering for two people which has helped my days fly by. Love getting home to my husband and his cooked meal, watching Young and the Restless and relaxing together before its time to go to bed and do it all again tomorrow.

What's up with Victor Newman these days? smh

Did something really happen to him?

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

I'm In Trouble Now

Uh Oh.....Furman has created his Red Velvet Cheesecake he said he wanted to try. He was quite successful I might add. It looks and tastes sooo good. I'm in trouble now!

   He topped it off with white chocolate crumbs.

Soo....I'm back on the bike. lol Well, I was getting back into my workouts anyways because I have Mud Hero to complete at the end of the month. There is a total of about 10 of us doing it this time so it should be even more fun. I think Furman's video of our Spartan Sprint was a seller. lol  ENCORE!

                                    

Even though the Red Velvet Cheesecake was the highlight of my long weekend (and the Men's 100m Olympic race), lol I guess I'll mention a bit about the Caribana Scotiabank Toronto Caribbean Carnival that we attended on Saturday. It was nice. A long day. We didn't head down there till mid day which had Furman concerned because I told him the Parade was supposed to start around 10:30am. Before heading to the parade we had to stop off at my moms house to clean up her apartment though. 

A follow up to Above Some Heads For Mom. They took action. They sure did! Almost immediately after I contacted them they had three different inspectors out to moms apartment to investigate my complaints. As a result, they issued an order for building management to take action immediately to fix my mothers kitchen walls. Supposedly she will be getting brand new cupboards but that wont be till closer to the end of the year I am told. For now, they had her walls plastered and painted as a temporary fix that looks much much better than it had in years. Funny thing was, that when the inspectors went to the building to speak with management about seeing my mother's apartment, the neighbor who has been my watchful eye was there with my mother. Turns out that the Superintendant happily instructed them (Public Health Dpmt) to please have a look at my mothers excrement infested balcony while they were at it. LMAO The neighbor was telling me how she was grinning and told the Superintendant that he clearly didn't get my message about My Momma Love Us...More. Oh yeah. That weasel! What nerve! Womp Womp! Happy that Furman and I took action immediately on that balcony. Looks good on him. Think he forgot that my mother has a loving daughter that dotes her mom. lol  Anyways...we got the apartment cleaned up.  It had been dusted by all the recent plastering. Everything had been out of the cupboards and also dusted because they had not been covered while the work was being done. We got the dishes all washed up, cleaned the floors and everywhere the dust went while mom was at her favorite place - Bingo. But, we had stopped to see her at Bingo on the way downtown. She had a little gift she wanted to give her granddaughter for her 17th birthday.  Since my daughter hasn't been around, she wasn't going to see her to give it to her herself, so I collected it on my daughters behalf.

After the cleanup we met up with my good friend and her family and head to the parade together. Parked the car and took public transit together. Love hanging out with them. At the end of the day I had to apologize to Furman for telling him that the parade would be about 3 hours. LMAO What was I thinking? Has it been that long? I was clearly wayyyy wrong. We got down there about 1pm and didn't leave till about 7pm and the parade was STILL GOING. hahahaha Can you imagine if we were down there for like 10am? We didn't see the beginning. We didn't see the end.  We saw enough. lol Like Furman said...it was like putting in a day's work! I didn't run into anybody I know which sometimes happens. But we had a good day. Walked a LOT! It was hella hot outside too. Toronto Celebrates Caribbean Carnival - CityNews. Heard there were several that fainted from heat exhaustion. People not hydrating enough. The perfect day for people watching. The things people wear!! Good Lord. Anything goes for all shapes and sizes. Seriously! From what I heard, females dressed just as badly in the nightclubs too. lol Why am I not surprised? 

All good things must come to an end. Back on the grind at work. Unfortunately, no immigration updates. So, we keep waiting. One thing I am no longer waiting for is answers to something that had been bothering me the last few months. Nope...got some insight this weekend. It helps to move forward when you have an understanding of things no matter how painful those things may be. 

                                      

Special thanks to my hubby for being my ROCK and for our dear friend that keeps reminding me of this prayer.  Love you both.

Friday, August 3, 2012

Thank You Son


At my desk I have an old email I once received from my son, that I printed and posted for my daily reminder. It's amazing how something so simple can mean so very much. This email means the world to me and having it posted at my desk is almost like having it framed at home. lol I don't think my son really knows how his random email touched my heart, and continues to touch my heart daily. It was random, which makes it that much more special. In the middle of my work day I checked my personal email and there it was. I needed that! I don't remember what was going on at the time but I know that I needed that! God knew. He sure did.


My son was living in Ottawa attending Carleton University and as students naturally do, he was going through common struggles. As a single mom, I was killing myself to do everything I could for him. Looking back now, i'm thinking that maybe I did too much. He was alone out there, while we were here. I guess he had a lot of time to think and reflect. I was missing him and going through a bit of an Empty Nest Sydrome although I still had my daughter at home with me. It's funny how after I adjusted and he started to visit I couldn't wait for him to go back to school though. haha My daughter and I bonded a bit more as mother and daughter. In a way, we started to become friends. Started.

I'll never forget that September weekend in 2007 when I left him to start a new chapter of his life, at a new school, in a strange city. It was hard as hell. I have no clue why he picked a school out of town. Was he trying to get away from me? lol I think it was because of his friends, because he later tried to change his mind but it was too late - residence fees had been paid. I traveled there with a few people to help bring his belongings that weekend. After he said his goodbyes to everyone in the parking lot, I walked him back to his dorm room where I did my best to hold back my tears. We hugged each other real hard, (he's about 6'3 so you know my neck was sore) and I am sure he shed a tear first. He might not admit it...but I know he did, because when I got that feeling that he was crying I couldn't hold back my own tears. What a moment! Love my son. A great memory.

You know what though...that weekend we traveled to move my son into his dorm room was a weekend that I was supposed to be in Florida for a dear friends wedding. I hated to have to turn the invitation down. It was the wedding of a mutual friend of mine and Furmans that I met through Furman the first time we dated. She had been waiting for this day and swore for years that she wanted to get married before she was 40! I hadn't seen or really spoken to Furman for years at that point. However, if I had been able to attend the wedding, I would have seen him, live and in the flesh. That, might have given us the opportunity to talk like we finally did in March of 2009. Sort a few things out. I'm just saying...if I had made that wedding, Furman and I just might have gotten back together much earlier than we did. But...I guess it wasn't a part of God's plan. I think God still had some things for Furman and I to separately go through and learn before we were ready for each other. That is my story and I'm sticking to it. lol Many things played out in our lives, or as Furman says, "ran their course" and for good reason. Now, Our Love is stronger than ever. I chose this as one of the songs on our Wedding CD. Any ideas why? I'll tell ya...Because of the number of years we were apart from each other and because of our distance...we kept our love for each other. 
Aww...just listen to the lyrics! lol

                                        

Anyways....I just wanted to share my email because I was sitting here reading it once again with a big smile on my face. When I am having my moments of feeling like an inadequate parent, when nasty people accuse me of being a horrible parent, when my kids act like fools and I wonder What The Hell?....I go back to this email!! I did alright! I really did. Don't get me wrong, I know that parenting is never done, but to this point I feel ok. My children are both in transitional stages of their lives wanting and trying to be adults. I can't do any more. It's time for me to sit back and watch their lives unfold. Give advice when they want it because they never really listen otherwise. But...we love them anyways. God knew what this email would mean to me, which is why he put it in my sons heart to send it to me that day. For that, I am grateful and will treasure this email always.

Thank You Son.



Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Caribana Weekend


Well, this upcoming weekend will be a doozy.
It's a long weekend with Monday being a Civic Holiday. What's that? I have no darn clue really.
It's a day off work, that's what it is. lol


This day off work, which is August 6th, just happens to be my daughters 17th birthday too. Yup. Nothing special planned. Just an acknowledgement. When they reach this age their friends are actually more important than their family. Trust me on that one! So...she'll be spending her time with them i'm sure. But, she knows how much I love her because I raised her without being shy on the affections.
                                                     

This will be the second birthday I have missed in 17 years. Not bad. Her 16th birthday was in Cuba with her father. A first. She had an amazing time though. Unfortunately, things didn't improve in their relationship following their return. I think she had kind of hoped that the "absent" father would all of a sudden start to be "present", once he spent the week with her and saw how awesome she was. Didn't happen though. But, as kids get older they get to see for themselves who people really are. Unfortunately, it doesn't help extinguish that desire for the love of someone that can't love us the way we want them to. Trust me...I know. (My dad, remember?) Then, kids start to make the decisions that shape their own lives - good and bad. Decisions that turn THEM into who THEY will be, often times irregardless of how they were raised. So, in this doozy of a weekend, one thing that I will do is celebrate my daughters birthday WITHOUT HER. I sure will. But, she will be on my mind as always. Love you TT!

I deserve to celebrate dammit! Hell, I spent a lot of hours in labor with her. In fact, as it fell on the long weekend which is also Caribana weekend, it means that when I went into labor 17 years ago I was home alone. lmao Wasn't funny at the time. Oh yeah...Red Flag number 4? Daddy was out enjoying the festivities while I rested at home waiting to pop. He made it to the hospital in time for her birth, but I was pissed he wasn't there when I actually went into labor. Why? Because I told him not to leave me!! I can laugh about it now. But hey..God was in control and I had a safe delivery with a beautiful healthy baby that is a big girl now. And hey...special mentions to my cousin J that was at the hospital with me when my beautiful daughter made her entrance. Thanks again Cuz. Love you.

So, in honor of my daughters birthday I think we might bake a Red Velvet cake. lol Maybe Furman can get more practice with his icing skills because I know he wouldn't have figured out how to make a Red Velvet Cheesecake quite yet. Oh yeah...that's on his list of "Things to do". Yippee! Can't wait to taste. In the meantime, I'll keep loving the exercise bike. lol


Back to Caribana though. Oh sorry...maybe I should call it by it's new name Scotiabank Toronto Caribbean Carnival. Yeah...right...Whatever! Caribana!! It will always be Caribana to me and many of us that grew up with it regardless of how it has changed over the years. Boy...do I have memories of Caribana Weekends. Man oh man! Thanks to those friends I used to hang out with that shared and were often a catalyst for the memories.


                                        


I love this pic as it shows me in Caribana costume minus the head gear. lol I don't remember what on earth convinced me to wear a costume that year but I did. Oh, but I didn't get IN the parade...Oh no...I walked along the sidelines where it was less sweaty and I still got the attention that I was seeking at the time. hahahaha Tourists stopping me asking to take photos with them. It was too funny. I wasn't alone though. Nope, I encouraged my youngest sister to wear the same costume and come on out with me to act a fool and have fun. hahaha  I was such a horrible sister.  But she can't tell me she didn't have fun! My other sister was present for the occasion also. Awww...the memories.
Even our Mayor gets in on the fun!
I will not be in costume this year. I haven't been to Caribana in years. In fact, the year I was in costume was probably the last time I was even there. However, I am looking forward to taking my husband to the parade for the experience. Oh, he might say it's just a parade, but it's our Toronto Caribana Parade that has been a tradition since 1967. It's my job as his wife to share our traditions, and that I will do. So, we'll be down there somewhere to peek the festivities - together. We hope to meet up with some friends. Not too early, not too late. But definitely before the younger generation, that will also be down there, get too hot and bothered and start any trouble. There is not usually trouble as the city is well prepared with tons of police presence...but, you know, just in case.....i'm not trying to be at the wrong place at the wrong time. Too much of that has been happening in the news lately.
Officer showing he can whine too! lol
 While the police are serving and protecting, they'll be having fun too - no doubt!

For those who plan to attend and need some help...check out this video!!  Can't say I didn't try to help you have fun. LMAO!!  Enjoy.



The rest of the weekend....hmmmm? We'll just have to see what we can get into.

                                              in advance...for those that may be headed out somewhere early. Be safe...and have fun.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...